At the top level, ITIL is organized around the "ITIL Service Lifecycle", and each of the five service lifecycle stages consists of several processes. The idea is that service providers check, regularly, if their services are delivered according to expectations, and take corrective action if necessary. For Flower we collected, implemented, and tested most of the ITIL sub-processes with a focus on automation.

Download Business Process Template for Free

Use the process template as it is or adjust and extend to your individual needs.

The Information Technology Infrastructure Library (ITIL) is a framework that provides best practices for managing and delivering IT services. It is used by organizations around the world to improve the quality and efficiency of their IT operations.

The ITIL Index is a comprehensive list of all ITIL publications, organized by the ITIL service lifecycle. The ITIL service lifecycle consists of five key stages: Service Strategy, Service Design, Service Transition, Service Operation, and Continual Service Improvement.

Each stage of the lifecycle represents a different phase of the Service Management Process and focuses on a specific set of activities and practices.

  1. Service Strategy: The service strategy stage focuses on defining the overall direction and goals for the IT service management function. It involves defining the value proposition for the service, identifying customer needs and expectations, and developing a plan for delivering value to the business.
  2. Service Design: The service design stage involves designing the service offerings and the processes and systems that support them. It involves creating service level agreements, defining service architectures, and developing service catalogues.
  3. Service Transition: The service transition stage involves transitioning new or changed services into operation. It involves testing, implementing, and deploying new services, as well as retiring or decommissioning existing services.
  4. Service Operation: The service operation stage involves managing and delivering the IT services that have been designed and transitioned into operation. It involves monitoring and managing the performance of the services, as well as responding to incidents and issues as they arise.
  5. Continual Service Improvement: The continual service improvement stage involves reviewing and improving the IT service management process on an ongoing basis. It involves identifying areas for improvement, implementing changes, and measuring the effectiveness of those changes.
This business process example is also available in you Flower business process template repository. Or simply download the business process template for free.


Learn More

Kickstart your Flower BPMN Workflow

[object Object]
How to make Jira Workflow a Business Process Management System (BPM)?


A business process is the strategic view on your value chain, while Jira workflow is at the tactical level. Read more to understand the difference.

[object Object]
Agile Workflow and Process Management (BPM)


The Agile Manifesto explicitly includes processes in its set of methods. But people and interactions are above business processes rather than vice versa

[object Object]
The Ultimate Guide to BPMN


Learn Business Process Modeling Notation (BPMN), the industry standard to design workflows and business processes, and how it integrates with Jira